TireBuyer Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At TireBuyer
Grandtrek SJ6 or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dunlop Grandtrek SJ6

215/65R16/SL 98Q DUN BW GRANDTREK SJ6
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Grandtrek SJ6
Review 1 for Grandtrek SJ6
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Best Snow Tires Ever!
PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Driver Profile:Daily Commuter
Miles Driven on Product:Less than 10,000 miles
State/Province:MI
Ice Traction 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Wet Traction 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Light Snow Traction 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Hydroplaning Resistance 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Noise Level 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Ride Comfort 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Would you buy this product again?
Very Likely
  
I had these tires for 2 months and I love them. I chose these over the Firestone Winterforce tires based on reviews and I couldn't be happier. I live in Northern Michigan and we had a early winter with over 90 inches of snow fall to date. These tires are great in snow I rarely use four wheel drive , now problems driving through 13 inches of fresh snow . I did drive some two tracks in four wheel drive pushing through 28 inches of snow with no problem. And if you do get stopped up just throttle down and tires dig right down and get out. I challenge myself to get stuck and so far not happening. Tires are quiet on dry pavement and handle great in all conditions. Tire buyer.com is great tires were delivered 3 days after I ordered them. They balanced out very good with minimum wheel weights.. Absolutely the best Snow Tire out there.
City: ROGERS CITY
Make: Chevrolet
Model: Tahoe
Trim: 4x4 4 Dr.
Year: 1999
Fitment: P245/75R16 109S:F|P245/75R16 109S:R|
Would you buy this product again?
Very Likely
  
Road Conditions: Snow
Road Types: Mixed Highway and City, Off-Road
Vehicle Type: SUV
Road Conditions: Snow
Road Types: Mixed Highway and City, Off-Road
Vehicle Type: SUV
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Grandtrek SJ6
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Mr.
PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Driver Profile:Daily Commuter
Miles Driven on Product:Less than 10,000 miles
State/Province:MI
Ice Traction 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Wet Traction 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Light Snow Traction 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Hydroplaning Resistance 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Noise Level 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Ride Comfort 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Would you buy this product again?
Very Likely
  
This tire is awesome! It handles great in heavy snow conditions. Just one day after getting them installed, we got hit with over 6” of snow. These tires handle wonderfully. They’ve been on the car for about two months, and 26” of snow, sleet and rain later, I couldn’t be happier with them. The Ice traction is very impressive, especially starting from a stop at intersections. Great control on the highway as well. I do plan to remove them in the spring because they are a “Snow Tire”, but considering that the car they are mounted on carries my children and wife to and from work & school everyday, I don’t mind the hassle of switching them. If you live in snow country, get these tires.
City: Escanaba
Make: Chrysler
Model: Pacifica
Trim: Touring FWD~slashAWD
Year: 2005
Fitment: P235/55R19 101H:F:R|P235/65R17 103H:F:R|
Would you buy this product again?
Very Likely
  
Road Conditions: Snow
Road Types: Mixed Highway and City, Off-Road
Vehicle Type: Crossover
Road Conditions: Snow
Road Types: Mixed Highway and City, Off-Road
Vehicle Type: Crossover
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Grandtrek SJ6
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Great value
PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Driver Profile:Daily Commuter
Miles Driven on Product:Less than 10,000 miles
State/Province:NY
Wet Traction 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Would you buy this product again?
Very Likely
  
Great tires for the price. So far so good in the snow...... what little this winter has offerd.
Would you buy this product again?
Very Likely
  
Road Conditions: Snow
Road Types: Mixed Highway and City
Vehicle Type: Van/Minivan
Road Conditions: Snow
Road Types: Mixed Highway and City
Vehicle Type: Van/Minivan
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Grandtrek SJ6
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Mr
PostedDecember 19, 2012
Driver Profile:Daily Commuter
State/Province:WA
Wet Traction 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Light Snow Traction 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Hydroplaning Resistance 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Noise Level 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Ride Comfort 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Would you buy this product again?
Very Likely
  
Excellent tire, well recommended by all from the dealer, reviewers, winter drivers. Wears slow and will last several years of winter driving. Great in wet weather and very quiet.
City: Seattle
Would you buy this product again?
Very Likely
  
Road Conditions: Snow
Road Types: Mixed Highway and City
Vehicle Type: Hatckback/Wagon
Road Conditions: Snow
Road Types: Mixed Highway and City
Vehicle Type: Hatckback/Wagon
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Grandtrek SJ6
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
best low profile tire in snow and ice.
PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Driver Profile:Daily Commuter
Miles Driven on Product:30,001 to 40,000 miles
State/Province:CA
Wet Traction 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Would you buy this product again?
Very Likely
  
First off, this is not your normal tire. It feels like a soft tread, it is low profile so no big knobs or overly big grooves. My wheel well can not fit m&s beefy tread tires. This was the solution. The dunlop sj6, which I have been using for 6 years now is awesome!!! Our on board computer will take over all 4 tires if the car starts to slip on the snow or ice, I find it sort of funny that I pass by big trucks in the ditch and my hilander is just in two wheel drive mode and trucking on through the snow without the computer taking over. I get three long winters on one set of tires and a full summer to finish them off, so cost for usage is excellent. I really love these tires. We feel safe!
Would you buy this product again?
Very Likely
  
Road Conditions: Snow
Road Types: Mostly Highway
Vehicle Type: Hybrid
Road Conditions: Snow
Road Types: Mostly Highway
Vehicle Type: Hybrid
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Grandtrek SJ6
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Mrs.
PostedDecember 12, 2012
Driver Profile:Daily Commuter
State/Province:WA
Dry Traction 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Wet Traction 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Hydroplaning Resistance 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Steering Responsiveness 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Noise Level 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Ride Comfort 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Excellent tires. Great price, quiet ride, and good traction.
City: Klickitat
Road Conditions: Mixed Dry and Rain
Road Types: Mixed Highway and City
Vehicle Type: SUV
Road Conditions: Mixed Dry and Rain
Road Types: Mixed Highway and City
Vehicle Type: SUV
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Grandtrek SJ6
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
tire buyer is great
PostedJanuary 1, 2012
State/Province:WV
Wet Traction 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Would you buy this product again?
Very Likely
  
Very pleased with tire buyer will not buy tires any where eles.very fast shipping.
Would you buy this product again?
Very Likely
  
Road Conditions: Snow
Road Conditions: Snow
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Grandtrek SJ6
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
3 out of 5 stars
Somewhat disappointed
PostedNovember 11, 2011
Driver Profile:Daily Commuter
Miles Driven on Product:30,001 to 40,000 miles
State/Province:VT
Wet Traction 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
3 out of 5 stars
Would you buy this product again?
Somewhat Unlikely
  
I was hoping these tires would be quieter..they are very loud. I hope they keep me on the road this winter, they have a very heavy tread. They are winter tires, and I knew that when buying them. Next time, I may consider buying a more expensive all season tire and hope it can get me through the winter snows.
Would you buy this product again?
Somewhat Unlikely
  
Road Conditions: Mixed Dry and Rain
Road Types: Mixed Highway and City
Vehicle Type: SUV
Road Conditions: Mixed Dry and Rain
Road Types: Mixed Highway and City
Vehicle Type: SUV
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Grandtrek SJ6
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
LeRoy
PostedDecember 13, 2012
Miles Driven on Product:More than 60,000 miles
State/Province:UT
Ice Traction 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Wet Traction 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Light Snow Traction 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Hydroplaning Resistance 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Noise Level 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Ride Comfort 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Would you buy this product again?
Somewhat Likely
  
I drive to alta ski resort every night. It snows and snows and snows. the first weekend I had these tires we had 54" of new snow. I passed 5 jeeps and 1 canyon transport van going up the road. It was like having chains on all 4 tires. Very impressed!
City: sandy
Make: Ford
Model: Escape
Trim: Limited 4x2/4x4
Year: 2008
Fitment: P225/65R17 100T:F:R
Would you buy this product again?
Somewhat Likely
  
Road Conditions: Snow
Road Types: Mixed Highway and City
Vehicle Type: SUV
Road Conditions: Snow
Road Types: Mixed Highway and City
Vehicle Type: SUV
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Grandtrek SJ6
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Mr.
PostedDecember 12, 2012
Driver Profile:Daily Commuter
State/Province:PA
Dry Traction 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Wet Traction 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Steering Responsiveness 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
3 out of 5 stars
Noise Level 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
3 out of 5 stars
Would you buy this product again?
Neutral
  
Tires are quiet for Winter treads. They seemed a little squirrly when first installed, but nothing I notice much after several hundred miles. Only dry & wet pavement drivng right now. No snow yet in NW PA :)
City: North East
Would you buy this product again?
Neutral
  
Road Conditions: Mostly Dry
Road Types: Mixed Highway and City
Vehicle Type: Van/Minivan
Road Conditions: Mostly Dry
Road Types: Mixed Highway and City
Vehicle Type: Van/Minivan
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Grandtrek SJ6
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Cold
PostedDecember 14, 2012
Driver Profile:Daily Commuter
State/Province:ND
Ice Traction 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Wet Traction 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
2 out of 5 stars
Light Snow Traction 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Would you buy this product again?
Somewhat Likely
  
so far not as much snow at one time, 4-5 inches and no problem with the traction. Used during hunting season and put them to the test a few times without a problem.
City: Mandan
Would you buy this product again?
Somewhat Likely
  
Road Conditions: Snow
Road Types: Mixed Highway and City
Vehicle Type: SUV
Road Conditions: Snow
Road Types: Mixed Highway and City
Vehicle Type: SUV
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Grandtrek SJ6
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Dakota54
PostedDecember 13, 2012
Driver Profile:Daily Commuter
State/Province:ND
Ice Traction 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Light Snow Traction 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Noise Level 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Ride Comfort 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Would you buy this product again?
Somewhat Likely
  
So far the tires are great on ice and hard pack snow, we have not had more than 8 inches of snow at one time and they have performed well with that amount.
City: Mandan
Would you buy this product again?
Somewhat Likely
  
Road Conditions: Snow
Road Types: Mixed Highway and City
Vehicle Type: SUV
Road Conditions: Snow
Road Types: Mixed Highway and City
Vehicle Type: SUV
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Grandtrek SJ6
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
excellent tire
PostedJune 22, 2012
Driver Profile:Daily Commuter
Miles Driven on Product:Less than 10,000 miles
State/Province:PA
Wet Traction 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Would you buy this product again?
Very Likely
  
during the winter of 2011 my purchase was a good choice because these tires did a great job in the snow and other different situations i was in. absolutely would repurchase.
Would you buy this product again?
Very Likely
  
Road Conditions: Mixed Dry and Rain
Road Types: Mostly Highway
Vehicle Type: SUV
Road Conditions: Mixed Dry and Rain
Road Types: Mostly Highway
Vehicle Type: SUV
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Grandtrek SJ6
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Mr
PostedDecember 13, 2012
Driver Profile:Daily Commuter
Miles Driven on Product:More than 60,000 miles
State/Province:OH
Mostly a winter tread tire. Have not had any snow yet since installing them but am excited to try them out in the snow. So far, so good
City: Louisville
Make: Honda
Model: CR-V
Trim: LX~slashEX
Year: 2004
Fitment: P205/70R15 95S:F|P205/70R15 95S:R|
Would you buy this product again?
Somewhat Likely
  
Road Conditions: Mixed Dry and Rain
Road Types: Mixed Highway and City
Vehicle Type: SUV
Road Conditions: Mixed Dry and Rain
Road Types: Mixed Highway and City
Vehicle Type: SUV
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Grandtrek SJ6
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Dunlop Snow Tires
PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Driver Profile:Eco Conscious
Miles Driven on Product:More than 60,000 miles
State/Province:CO
Ice Traction 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Wet Traction 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Light Snow Traction 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Hydroplaning Resistance 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Noise Level 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
3 out of 5 stars
Ride Comfort 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5 stars
Would you buy this product again?
Very Likely
  
This Dunlop tire is the best snow tire I have ever experienced driving on snow and icy roads.
City: Westcliffe
Make: Chrysler
Model: Pacifica
Trim: Touring FWD/AWD
Year: 2005
Fitment: P235/55R19 101H:F:R
Would you buy this product again?
Very Likely
  
Road Conditions: Snow
Road Types: Mixed Highway and City
Vehicle Type: Crossover
Road Conditions: Snow
Road Types: Mixed Highway and City
Vehicle Type: Crossover
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Grandtrek SJ6
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
mr
PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Driver Profile:Daily Commuter
Miles Driven on Product:More than 60,000 miles
State/Province:VT
Ice Traction 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Wet Traction 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Light Snow Traction 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Hydroplaning Resistance 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
3 out of 5 stars
Noise Level 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Ride Comfort 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
4 out of 5 stars
Would you buy this product again?
Somewhat Likely
  
great overnight delivery
City: Shelburne
Make: Toyota
Model: Camry
Trim: SE 4 Cyl~dot
Year: 2005
Fitment: P215/60R16 94V:F|P215/60R16 94V:R|
Would you buy this product again?
Somewhat Likely
  
Road Conditions: Snow
Road Types: Mostly City
Vehicle Type: Sedan
Road Conditions: Snow
Road Types: Mostly City
Vehicle Type: Sedan
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.